Europe’s Largest Cities

What are Europe’s largest cities? We list the ten largest cities in Europe, starting at number ten. Which city would win first place on the list was not entirely obvious, as it depends on how you count.


According to Abbreviationfinder, Europe’s largest cities may be small compared to the world’s largest cities, but they are still real big cities! We have listed the ten largest cities, starting with the tenth largest. By size we mean in this case the number of residents and we have taken the number of residents that applies to the city itself, not the entire metropolitan area. If you are interested in largest countries of Europe, please visit Countryaah.


Here is the list of Europe’s ten largest cities. We start in place number 10 and count down to number 1 – Europe’s largest city!

10. Bucharest, Romania

The capital of Romania, Bucharest, ranks 10th with its 2.1 million residents (2016). Surveys show that the population increased until the 1990s, but that the number of residents then decreased somewhat. The question is how long can Bucharest hold the place as number ten? Minsk, Hamburg and Vienna are not far behind with about 1.9 million residents in each city.

Bucharest, Romania

9. Paris, France

The French capital is just past Bucharest, with just over 2.1 million residents (2019). If you count the region around Paris, with its suburbs, then the situation is different. Then Paris has almost 11 million residents. The population also increases slightly every year. I (Helena) stayed here on my way to my language trip in Bournemouth as a 14-year-old – long before the time of digital cameras.

Paris, France

8. Rome, Italy

In 8th place among Europe’s largest cities is the Italian capital Rome with just over 2.8 million residents (2018). If you count the whole region around Rome, with its suburbs, then Rome is instead smaller than Paris, with 4.2 million residents. The population is also increasing in Rome. We visited Rome in 2017 and were really delighted in this charming city, which feels homely even though it is so big. Here you can also be fascinated both by the Colosseum and by the Vatican City – the world’s smallest country.

Rome, Italy

7. Kiev, Ukraine

In 7th place is the Ukrainian capital Kiev with just over 2.9 million residents (2019). Kiev is a city that has experienced both ups and downs through the ages. In terms of population, the city has mostly increased, apart from a slight decline in the 2000s. Now the number of residents is increasing again. We have celebrated New Year here twice (2009/2010 and 2011/2012) – a wonderful city!

Kiev, Ukraine

6. Madrid, Spain

The Spanish capital Madrid takes sixth place on the list of Europe’s largest cities, with its 3.2 million residents (2018). If you count the entire metropolitan region, there are around 6.5 million people living here, which makes Madrid one of the largest metropolitan regions in Europe. The population is also constantly increasing. We have never been here yet, even though we have visited Spain many times.

Madrid, Spain

5. Berlin, Germany

In fifth place is the German capital Berlin with 3.7 million residents (2018). If you include suburbs, the city has around 4.6 million residents. Berlin’s population decreased between 1950 and 1980, but since 1985 the population has increased. We have talked for many, many years about visiting Berlin, but it has not yet happened. However, we have visited beautiful and charming Potsdam, which is just outside.

4. St. Petersburg, Russia

One of two cities on the list that is not a capital city is St. Petersburg, which rises to fourth place with its 5.3 million residents (2019). The city is ranked as the 50th largest city in the world, and the population increases slightly every year, both due to immigration and an increased number of children born per woman, which is now 1.6. We would like to visit this city on occasion – maybe on a cruise?

St. Petersburg, Russia

3. London, U.K.

London is sometimes even considered Europe’s largest city, if you do not take Moscow and Istanbul into account. Because we have included both of these cities, London ends up in 3rd place with 9.1 million residents (2018). London is much larger than the second largest city in the country, Birmingham, where more than 1.1 million people live. In addition, the population of London is steadily increasing. I (Helena) made a short visit here during my language trip as a 14-year-old.

London, U.K.

2. Moscow, Russia

Russia’s capital Moscow ranks second on the list of Europe’s largest cities with just over 13.1 million residents (2017). According to some sources, the population may also be significantly higher due to illegal immigration. Apart from a decline in the 1920s, the population of Moscow has increased steadily. We visited this exciting city for a few days before setting off on the Trans-Siberian Railway to Beijing in 2006.

Moscow, Russia

1. Istanbul, Turkey

In number 1 is Turkey’s largest city Istanbul with an impressive 15 million residents (2017). The city has grown rapidly over the past hundred years, and continues to grow. Istanbul feels like an exotic and really exciting city, which we hope to visit at some point in life!

Istanbul, Turkey

European Democracy and Rights by Country

Recent Updates